(Day 17) Korean BBQ

  
Yesterday, a friend asked me what I was going to take away from my Friday. I don’t know why I thought that was such an odd question. Maybe it’s because since I moved to California, days seem to melt into one another. It’s hard to distinguish one Friday from the next, but that’s an interesting goal to have, no? Take something, a lesson, maybe, from every day of your life.

Although, yesterday wasn’t just an ordinary Friday. Sure, I did my normal tasks. I went skateboarding as soon as I woke up. I went to the gym. I talked with my sister. But then I went to Korean barbeque with one of our friends. I was expecting Koreatown to be different, perhaps with more lights or more people on the streets, but it was quiet on the outside, like most good people and good places. The streets were bare, the lights were dim and warmly colored, and the people were like most mysteriously simple faces in LA.

Korean barbeque can teach you a thing or two about sharing. It’s actually an ingenious idea. They give you meat and a grill built into the table. They throw the meat on the grill, hand you some tongs, and leave you to cooking the meal yourself. I wish I had come up with the idea, called it an experience, and become filthy rich. Good job, Koreans. I applaud you. 

Anyway, about sharing; it’s not just about sharing a meal or passing the tongs so that everyone has a chance to try their hand at being the chef. It’s more about someone sharing something they like with their friends. In the car, on our way there, my friend turned around from the front seat and said,

“You won’t believe how much meat we’re going to eat tonight.” 

Now, I don’t eat a whole lot of meat considering I was avenge tartan for three years, but I was stoked. I was ready for that meat. Everyone in the car was pumped. 

The food was good, not too expensive, but more than the food, the energy of the people in the room made everything better. Maybe that’s why people call themselves “foodies” (a term I previously took issue with). Because energy and atmosphere is half of the battle of a good restraint. The other 40% is the company. The last 10% is the food. 

Leave a Reply

