(Day 21) Soundtracks to Your Life


It’s no secret the music can conjure up feelings. It can remind you of a time, a place, or a person. You could feel nostalgic or repulsed or even on the verge of tears. But, this post isn’t supposed to be sad. Which songs define different parts of your life? Please leave your picks in the comments. I’ll listen to all of them.


When I was little, around 4, I was enamored with the song, “I Go Blind” by Hootie and the Blowfish. Every time I hear the first few notes, I still jump. I try not to listen to it too often, because I want to remember sitting in the carseat in my mom’s red Carrolla, sining the lyrics wrong and looking at her hazel eyes and beautiful crow’s feet in the rear view mirror.

The Beach Boys will forever be sunburn by the community pool, trying to avoid the glare of the lifeguards, hoping not to see anyone from school, and covering, as best I could, my exposed limbs with a purple and white striped towel.

When I was in middle school I went through a classic rock phase. I won’t lie, the “phase” lasted well into high school and I remember my friends always changing the CD when they rode in my car to whatever bubblegum crap was trending at the moment. “Another Brick in the Wall” by Pink Floyd. “Psycho Killer” by Talking Heads. “Highwire” by The Rolling Stones. Those are just a few, and that’s about as rebellious as I got (so, not rebellious at all).

“Bulletproof” by La Roux reminds me of summers in high school when I spent time with family friends who made fun of me relentlessly. More sunburn, less self-esteem.

Freshman year of college was the first album that American Authors released. I saw them in concert twice and fell in love with their upbeat, optomitic flavor. But, then I started dating someone, and now I cringe when I listen to the song “Believer,” doesn’t it suck when people ruin songs for you?

Other ruined songs:

“Budapest” by George Ezra’

“Stolen Dance” by Milky Chance

“Never Let You Go” by Third Eye Blind

Everything by Bob Marley, just everything.

And those are good songs, right? Damn people. But then again there are songs that I always have and always will listen to, including anything The Beatles recorded, Queen, BILLY JOEL, and “Dream a Little Dream of Me” by Mama Cass, The Mamas and the Papas.

After this summer I’ll probably hate Childish Gambino.

Right now, I like to look at the beach and listen to “Everyday” by Buddy Holly. I like to think that it’s ironic or symbolic, or maybe it’s foreshadowing…

“Everyday, it’s-uh gettin’ closer,

moving faster than a rollercoaster,

love like yours will surely come my way.”

3 thoughts on “(Day 21) Soundtracks to Your Life

  1. A lot of songs get ruined for me by whomever I had a crush on when the song was popular. For example, “Wonderwall” is totally ruined for me, “Make It with You” by Bread reminds me of my 7th grade crush, and anything by Cascada in 2009 brings me back to 11th grade. As I discovered the Beatles at a young age, they remain untainted.

    Like

  2. This whole idea of our lives having soundtracks is something I’ve heard a lot about in the past few months.

    One of my favorite high school teachers (who actually just retired) absolutely adores Toni Morrison– so much so that he refers to her as God and had an entire corner of his classroom dedicated to her work.

    Anyway, when I went to see him on his last day before retirement, he told me that his favorite novel of hers is Jazz. Apparently, Morrison starts off by introducing a number of characters who all lead separate lives and slowly brings them together, creating a plot that works the same way that jazz works.

    In a way, a lot of writing styles can be likened to certain types of music. To me, your descriptive pieces are carefully-crafted symphonies, your poetry is light folk-pop.

    But on an even more literal meaning, a friend of a friend of mine has a playlist for every part of his day– from getting up in the morning to showering to making food. An ACTUAL soundtrack to his life.

    (Also, I’ve been meaning to read Jazz for a while now. Transcontinental book club?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

